Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)

Founded on November 4, 1743 by Margrave Friedrich of Brandenburg-Bayreuth and expanded from 1769 by Margrave Alexander of Brandenburg-Ansbach and Brandenburg-Bayreuth, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität passed to Bavaria in 1810. Since 1818 it has been located in the former margravial secondary residence in Erlangen. In the summer semester of 1890, more than 1,000 students were enrolled for the first time. In 1961, the Nuremberg College of Economics and Social Sciences was incorporated, as well as the Nuremberg College of Education in 1972. Today, around 40,000 students study at our FAU locations in Erlangen, Nuremberg and Fürth.

Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) is a classical full-spectrum university and a leader in innovation. It retains a strong sense of tradition while delivering the minds and ideas of tomorrow and safeguarding academic responsibility. Moving Knowledge at FAU describes our culture of intensive networking across one of the broadest ranges of research and subject disciplines for innovative research and teaching. Innovation, diversity and passion inspire our activities across the areas of people, education‚ research and outreach from a regional and international perspective.

Erlangen Castle in the center of the baroque old town serves as the headquarters of FAU. (FAU/Georg Pöhlein)